PDA

View Full Version : stack size?

John Burton
02-04-2005, 04:40 AM
I have a 2x6 patriot that i bought used last spring. it came with a base stack for 8 inch pipe so i bought 12 feet of it the roof jack and stack cover. now that i am talking to others i see everyone else has 10 inch stack on their 2x6 rigs. my question is about draft. I have a blower on this rig, will its stack size limit its boiling rates and if so can adding some more pipe over come this?this is my first year on my own rig so i dont have a ton of experience in ths area. any thoughts.

lmathews
02-04-2005, 05:25 AM
hi,
i have a 2x6 grimm with factory stack size of 7". i boil app. 25-30 gal. per hr. i also have a blower. i think that the 8" would do you just fine.
thank you

mapleman3
02-04-2005, 05:30 AM
8" on my Algier 2 x 6 and with blower did close to 35gph on good days

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
02-04-2005, 08:11 AM
I know the Leader and King 2x6 drop flues came with 7" stack a couple of years ago. They may come with 8" now, but not sure. I questioned Leader about this as not being enough stack and they stated that on a drop flue you didn't need nearly as much as on a raised flue since you have to pull a lot more draft with a raised flue to get the heat to up into the flues and back down into the stack. Don't know for sure, but makes sense. I have a 2x8 and it has 10" stack. Even on the larger models the best I remember, a raised flue used to have more stack than a drop flue. :)

cheesegenie
03-05-2006, 12:18 PM
Been looking over these old post, for answer. Stack heighth?
I have wood fired, no blower,four fout pan, with side preheater.Stack
is 8", six feet inside, four feet above roof peak outsisde.Find it a bit
smokey. I was thinking of adding another 30" to ouside. Would it make
any difference?

Rob Harvey
03-05-2006, 12:27 PM