PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here...

bussell
11-13-2009, 05:57 PM
I boiled a bit last year and made about 1/4 of a gallon last year using a propane tank. I'm looking to scale-up this year with more taps and get more efficient rig.

I'm debating whether or not to get prefab evaporator or to just make one with blocks.

Thoughts?

KenWP
11-13-2009, 06:26 PM
They should get 20-20 to investigate this problem someday. Every person who makes syrup wants to make more of the stuff. Must be some hidden drug in syrup stream that causes it.
If you can buy a prefab go for it as it's less work but homemade works also depending on your skills and pateince when things don't go right.

TapME
11-13-2009, 06:55 PM
welcome to the site Bussell. The block arch thing works good with just a little investment. Where are you in the pine tree state?

birdmancf
11-13-2009, 06:59 PM
Bussell,

The real question is what is your most abundant and/or limited resource. If money, then you can build cheaper. But if you have and can spend the money, you can always get great return on sellling your used equipment if you decide to get out of it. If you have a small.limited number of potential taps then again building your own might be for you, if you plan to keep expanding, why start with something you'll quickly outgrow.
I've been working a barrel evaporator for two years now and enjoy the process of trying to make it better, more efficient each year (by the way this is THE PLACE to get great info on how to tinker with and upgrade your system(s).) I think my tap number will be limited so expanding into an expensive rig is just not right for me yet. However when I do expand , I will have one pimped out, glowing hot, steam spewing sugar-maker that I'm ready to passs along to another newbie.
Enjoy the ride, this hobby is more infectitous than H1N1 could ever be.
Chris

By the way, what part of Maine?

bussell
11-13-2009, 07:43 PM
Thanks, guys. I'm in Sanford (but originally from Topsham).