PDA

View Full Version : blower vs. open draft

7810hunting
11-12-2009, 05:04 PM
Could I get close to the same results by keeping my bottom draft wide open
rather than installing a blower on my 2x61/2 maple pro evaporater?

Bradenfish
11-12-2009, 08:25 PM
I'm no expert but i doubt it. I run my 3x10 draft wide open with no blower. I assume that most people always run their's wide open.

Sugarmaker
11-12-2009, 08:39 PM
Like Brandefish, what ever you have you pretty much run wide open or as fast as it will boil. I would say the execption to that is that you can get too hot of a fire in your evaporator. A blower system can raise your stack temp and possibly have a stack melt down. NOT a good thing.
Natural draft may not allow that to happen?
Anyway I think you will boil more sap with a blower than without. But you need to fire consistently too.
With a blower I get a good boil in all areas of the evaporator. It feels like I am boiling faster. I can get about 80-90 GPH. I have not boiled much on this rig with out the blower. But I would estimate 60-70 GPH without the blower going???

3rdgen.maple
11-12-2009, 09:41 PM
No is the simple answer. If you add a blower I would first check with manufacturer about voiding warranty. They are gonna probably tell you to buy different grates and a new arch front made for this application. And there is good reason for it.

Brent
11-12-2009, 10:23 PM
you will get a hotter fire if you put a blower on it

BUT

a huge part of that heat will go up the stack AND you'll burn a lot more wood per gallon evaporated.