PDA

View Full Version : Fall Sugaring?

PARKER MAPLE
11-11-2009, 05:58 PM
So im still pretty new at all this sugaring stuff, but i remeber hearing about a couple of people that were going to try and tap this fall. just was wondering when you would start taping, and what to expect for runs. around here there are calling for nights in the 18 to 25 degree range for the 4-5 days, how much of a freeze up do you need before the sap starts running?
maple rookie

DrTimPerkins
11-11-2009, 06:38 PM
So im still pretty new at all this sugaring stuff, but i remeber hearing about a couple of people that were going to try and tap this fall.

The process of maple sap flow (or sap exudation as it is referred to in the science world) is driven by alternating freeze-thaw conditions. Whenever you get those conditions, whether in the spring or fall, you will get sap flow. Major difference is that the sap is not nearly as sweet in the fall as it is in the spring. You should not tap trees both in the fall and the spring....it's one or the other. Reaming of fall tapholes for spring produciton has not proven to be a terribly effective strategy.

Tim P.
UVM PMRC

Maple Ridge
11-11-2009, 06:47 PM
There is a thread on this site that talks about this, and that someone is doing that. He also mentioned that you can not tap the same trees in the spring.
Sunday Nov 8th, I went around and tested some of my trees and found a range of 1.5 to 4 Brix. I read an artical that you can get an idea on how the spring would look by this. I am sure it will be diferent in the spring, but not sure by how much. I am hoping for a better 2010 spring than last year.

vtmaplemaker
11-11-2009, 09:18 PM