PDA

View Full Version : sap storage

snohiker
10-27-2009, 09:50 PM
Hello people newbie here and my questions are just getting started first one is how long can i store sap before its no good im starting out with between 25 to 30 taps and would like to store it so i have enough to make it worth boiling thanks Rob (snohiker)

KenWP
10-27-2009, 10:07 PM
What do you call enough to boil. At the first of the season you will find that it will freeze if you put it in a container in a snowbank and will keep pretty good then. Later you can do like I did and freeze some to make big ice cubes to keep the rest fresh until you get it boiled. You will find that when it's warm your suger level in the sap goes down a bit and it will make darker syrup also.

3rdgen.maple
10-27-2009, 10:20 PM
Snohiker unfortunately sap spoils rather quick.I have never stored for more than 3 days. If the temps are cold enough maybe longer. Like KenW says you can stuff it in a snowbank or add blocks of frozen sap or some people freeze gallon jugs of water and put them in the tank. If there is a warm spell then you are better off getting it boiled down pretty quick. You can keep an eye on the sap and see it start to get cloudy and it will have a somewhat of an off smell to it. Before it gets too bad boil it down. It will still make you some good syrup just maybe on the darker side. If it has gotten really bad it will make what some call mersh. (commercial grade) Over time you will gain the experience and know how long you can hold it and when it is time to get it in the pans. Remember though the sooner it gets in the evaporator the better. Just have fun with it and we welcome the questions and you may even be able to answer some of ours.

PerryW
10-28-2009, 12:44 AM
If you treat sap like you would milk, you will be okay. Keep it cold and it will last longer.

I boil mine right up, but some people boil only on the weekends.

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
10-28-2009, 04:47 AM