PDA

View Full Version : mason jars vs plastic jugs

The Birdman
10-16-2009, 11:43 AM
I know alot of you use mason jars and alot use the plastic syrup jugs. My ? is which will sale better. I like mason jars I love to see the finsh product. The wife wants to buy the plastic syrup. she said it looks more professional. Pat

Dennis H.
10-16-2009, 12:55 PM
I like both.

My opinon is that a mason jar gives it that local made product look, while the plastic jugs with the nice silk screening on them gives the syrup a nice profession look. I would do both and find out what sells best for you.

3rdgen.maple
10-16-2009, 03:24 PM
I agree with Dennis as well. If you want professional looks and keep the glass go get some fancy glass bottles they will make you both happy.

SilverLeaf
10-16-2009, 03:33 PM
I've no experience with the plastic jugs, but my limited experience with mason jars vs glass maple syrup bottles is that the bottles sell 2x as fast as the mason jars. The jars do scream "homemade & local" but for whatever reason with syrup people have seemed to want the "this is definitely syrup" look.

mapletbdf
10-16-2009, 03:35 PM
we have always bottled in plastic jugs or maple type glass consider your market ,if you are at a farm market you might want a plastic bottle because of the durability .Use a bottle that is easy can and label . A two piece mason lid and mason jars can also get costly

maplehound
10-16-2009, 03:36 PM
I have tried them both in my Markets. My father conviced me to try the mason jars since they where so much cheaper than the other glass bottles I was using. i placed them on the shelfs along side of some other fancy glass bottles and the plastic bottles that I was selling in at the time. The result was that most of the mason jars got pulled off the shelf ad brought home for my personal use since they weren't moving at all. I will never sell in them again. It is too much work to bottle syrup once I sure don't need to do it more than that.

The Birdman