PDA

View Full Version : Bricks or blankets

Brent
10-08-2009, 08:21 PM
I'm thinking of trying to improve the insulation on the firebox section of my arch. It currently has 1" of firbreboard and 1 layer of 1/2 brick.

Anything that gets slopped ( who me ) on the sides of the stainless gets scorched in place.

The arch has traditional slopping sides.

Do you think I should put on another layer of fibreboard or add full thickness bricks.

Bucket Head
10-08-2009, 08:51 PM
Brent,

I have no experience with the board, so I can't comment on it. I can tell you that I have 1", 2600 deg. blanket with "half" fire bricks in my rig, and I like it a lot. The bricks are just there to protect the blanket.

I can't tell you the surface temp. of my sides, but I can now stand next to it without nearly burning my pants off. The sides would glow at night.

The blanket is an excellent insulator and I would reccomend it to everyone. I should have installed it years ago.

Steve

3rdgen.maple
10-08-2009, 09:21 PM
I think scorching syrup on the side of the firebox area is the norm. More brick and more insulation would help but would also make your firebox smaller. If you added another inch of insulation and went to full brick you gonna lose a couple inches on each side. I have an inch of archboard and split brick and Im pleased with that. I just give her a wipedown before I boil for the day and then she gets a good polishing at the end of the year and she shines like new. I believe that when you are reading the temps of insulation like 2600 it is not how much heat it holds back but it is the temp that it will withstand before burning up. Maybe you can cut two pieces of sheetmetal put a 90 degree lip on it and set it on the arch rail and put the syrup pan on it and call it a splash guard.

Brent
10-08-2009, 10:20 PM
Splash guard .... hmmm ... good idea.

I would still like cooler sides, which means less heat loss too.

I don't want to go to full brick and 1" more fibre board.