PDA

View Full Version : Tubing Tool Question

Littlesap
09-27-2009, 07:23 PM
Guys,

I am new to the madness and picked up some tubing over the summer with the intention of putting 75-100 trees on lines and another ~25 on buckets. I picked up taps and tubing from Bascom's this summer but I didn't think to ask about how to attach the various sections of tubing to the drop lines. I've read about one handed fitting tools and two handed fitting tools, any recommendations out there? And where to pick one up? Also if I install a main line will this tool do the trick for that as well or do I need something else (and if so what)?

Many thanks

Papa John's Sugar Shack
09-27-2009, 07:39 PM
Littlesap- I have both, but I use the two handed tool for everything

brookledge
09-27-2009, 08:01 PM
I know they are alot of money but once you use one you will never want to do with out one again. I like the two handed tool. Ask around, check with other sugarmakers in Ct. you might be able to borrow one.
Otherwise I know some use hot water or another heat source but for the tightest fit it is better using no heat.
By the sounds of the amount of taps you will not need any special tool for putting main line together.
You do however need to decide on the type of maifolds you are going to use. And I would recomend you go with 3/4" mainline with the saddle type manifolds.
Good Luck
Keith

Maplewalnut
09-28-2009, 07:21 AM
Go with the two handed tool if you are going to buy one. I know they are alot of money but shop around. There was almost a $100 difference in supply houses when I bought mine two years ago.

ennismaple
09-28-2009, 10:28 AM
The 2 handed tool is great and was worth every penny. For 100 trees I don't know if I'd buy one. We put up thousands of taps by warming the tubing in your mouth and pushing them on the fittings. It's not as fast but still works.