PDA

View Full Version : Questions on making a new pan

Grizz747
09-21-2009, 08:46 PM
I am looking to make a Pan. I boiled last year on a cinder block/4 steam tray pan set up. I am a teacher and I am going to ask the local vo-ed if they can weld one up. My first questions are what gauge should I use 20 or 22? and does it make a difference other than cosmetic, if I use mirror finish or brush polish? I am sure there will be many more to follow.

Bucket Head
09-21-2009, 09:47 PM
Griz,

How good are the welders there? The thinner the material, the harder it is to weld. Ask the instructor if there is a student/students that have excelled at the "tricky" stuff. I would go with the thicker of the two. It would be a little easier to weld and would be a little more durable. Shiney and polished material costs more. My pans are just "mill finish", and work fine. Not as nice as factory pans, but they are respectable looking.

Let us know what you decide and keep us posted on the progress.

Steve

Haynes Forest Products
09-22-2009, 01:18 AM
The problem with mirror finish is your going to ruin the finish in the welded areas and then grind and brush to make them look good so go with the brushed. The nice shinny pans that you buy are not polished after welding.

Grizz747
09-22-2009, 06:00 AM
By thicker what is the max, should it be 18 Gauge or should it be determined by the Voed teacher? Is 18 to thick?

Bucket Head
09-22-2009, 08:34 PM
Griz,

No, 18 ga. would'nt be too thick. My pans are made of both 14 and 16 ga. stainless. Yes, much thicker than they need to be, but they still boil sap! I'm sure I'm losing a little bit of heat transfer because of the thickness. However, they are very sturdy, and they were easy to weld. I can get forty gph evaporation with them, and thats comparable to the factory rigs of the same size.

Haynes,