PDA

View Full Version : looking for timberframe S/H plans

thesweetlife
08-30-2009, 07:51 PM
Hi everyone this is my first post. I’m looking for some help on making a new sugar house. I have a 12X16 shed converted to a S/H with a 2X6 Grimm Lightning. I have been using it for about 10+ years and am looking to build my last one that will last forever. I have a portable saw mill and enough ambition to make a timber frame S/H. I am asking anyone if they have any thoughts on plans or where I could purchase some plans. I am interested in making a building with a kitchen and storage and enough room for new toys. I am interested in any ideas. Looking to make a real business out of this someday.

brookledge
08-30-2009, 09:06 PM
I think the best thing you could do is visit some sugarhouses. You are in central NH so you could easilly get some ideas from other producers and see what works and what doesn't. Most of us build from scratch and there is no master plans just many years of trial and error.
Like I said I think you will find the best info you can get will be from other producers sugarhouses
Good luck
Keith

tuckermtn
08-30-2009, 09:59 PM
where in central NH are you? sugarhouses lend them selves very well to timber frames...

StewieSugar
08-31-2009, 07:25 AM
I have dreams, too, of building my sugar house with a timberframe. I drafted some plans last year using Google Sketchup. It's strictly the frame, so it's lacking the details of sinks, windown, etc., but I've included details of all the joints/cuts.

I tried to attach a PDF version, but the file size (at 44 kB) is larger than allowed (at 19 kB). If you're interested in the PDF or Sketchup file, I can e-mail them to you.

Snow Hill Farm
08-31-2009, 01:15 PM