PDA

View Full Version : Ultra Violet sap light questions

Bucket Head
08-23-2009, 10:03 PM
I need some questions answered about my UV light that I plan on using this spring.

Its rated at 7 gallons per minute. So I need a pump that pumps no more than 7 gpm? Five gpm would be fine, but a pump with 10 gpm would be too fast and the sap would not get treated fully because of the speed?

What if a guys sap unloading point is higher than the holding tank? Mine is not, I'm just wondering here. Can the UV lights be gravity fed? Is that 7 gpm rating for pumped or not pumped sap?

How do you UV light users use yours? Where do you have your light? Before or after a pump? Higher or lower than the holding tank? Any "do's and don'ts" for these things?

Any advice on these things would be appreciated. Thanks guys.

Steve

3rdgen.maple
08-23-2009, 10:30 PM
Buckethead I have no experience with running uv with sap but I do have experience running uv on my koi ponds so I will tell you what I know.
First off 7gpm is 7gpm pumped or gravity. So It does not matter as far as that goes. If you are pumping it and say you have a 20gpm pump put an inline vavle in the system to regulate flow. It will not hurt the pump as long as there is sap in the system to keep it cooled. I would take a pail and mark it a 7 gallons and adjust the valve until it takes a minute to hit that mark. Also 7 gpm is the max effeciency of the model you have so less than 7 is not a bad thing either. Last thing I can think off is the ones I have are inline before the filters after the pump and if they run dry they get hot in a hurry as the pond water cools thems so do not run them dry for very long and remember if you have them lower than the tank or setup in a way that sap remains in them make sure they are not in a situation where they can freeze cause cost of the bulbs as you know are not cheap.

brookledge
08-24-2009, 08:32 PM