PDA

View Full Version : Sugar in bottom of jars

12-29-2004, 12:02 PM
OK, I'm a newbee/hobbyist and I've been tapping some trees I have for 3 years now (25 - 30 taps). I boil it with a Leader 1/2 pint and finish it on the kitchen stove so I can control the heat. Last year I produced around 5-6 gallons for myself and friends so this wasn't a big deal, but I've always had the sugar sand collect in the bottom of my Mason jars that I can't filter. I've tried coffee filters, which run too slow, and cheesecloth, which really doesn't work well either. With the # of taps I have I obviously can't justify the expensive filtering equipment.

I've considered letting the syrup sit in the boiling container to let it settle out for a few days, pouring it out again (minus as much of the sugar as possible) and reheating to 180 degrees so the jars would seal. Seems like a lot of trouble. Just wondering if anyone has a better suggestion.

themapleking
12-29-2004, 05:23 PM
Try using a felt filter or a synthetic filter Hot syrup pours threw it faster than a felt.
If the sugar sand in the jars is black than it's sand-or niter. If it's the light in colour than your syrup is crystalized. You got the temp and denisty too high when it was boiling.

Al
12-29-2004, 06:02 PM
I agree with the maple king. I also started small and tried many different materials. None that worked like the felt or synthetic filter. I prefer the synthentic over the felt just becasue I can cut the synthetic filter to fit into my collender. There are many posts on here about filtering and filtering equipment (coffee pots) if you do a search on the subject.