PDA

View Full Version : Maple Basics

elmcreekmaple
03-31-2009, 11:50 AM
I am new to this but I want to get it right - I have a lot of questions and would really appreciate any feedback or advice. I tend to ramble even while typing so I apologize beforehand:

Are there any good resources or seminars near NW Wisconsin?

Is the 'sugar sand' harmful?

What would cause one batch through a filter to be crystal clear but the next through the same filter cloud - even some sediment on the bottom of jars?

What are the pros & cons of the differing colors of syrup? what causes the difference?

I have many more questions but I will stop for now.

Thank, Aaron

Jeff E
03-31-2009, 12:07 PM
Andersons Maple syrup will be having an open house, usually in May. That is always a great time for learning. Give them a call and see what they have going on. As always, this forum is very helpful.

Is the 'sugar sand' harmful? Just adds grit and and off flavor.

What would cause one batch through a filter to be crystal clear but the next through the same filter cloud - even some sediment on the bottom of jars?

Sounds like the filter has a leak, or some syrup went around the filter.
Is it an orlon filter?

What are the pros & cons of the differing colors of syrup? what causes the difference?
As the weather and season changes, the contents of the sap vary. Also, sap that has sat around gets bacteria growth and can darken the syrup and make the flavor less sweet.
If all items are clean and sap is fresh, your syrup should be of high quality, even if it is darker. At the end of the season, the sap will get 'buddy', and the syrup is very dark, not the best for table use. It can be used as 'commercial grade' for use in cooking, patching potholes and such:)

Keeping all items clean (wash buckets, tanks and hoses often) will really help with the syrup quality.

elmcreekmaple
03-31-2009, 12:26 PM
thanks Jeff -