PDA

View Full Version : Engineered drawings of homemade designs?

jimjan
03-29-2009, 09:59 AM
Any interest in submitting sketches of homemade designs, in order to create engineered drawings of your work? I'm a toolmaker by trade, and currently designing injection molds in Pro/Engineer - one of the major 3D design software packages. I recently joined the discussion group, and honestly didn't know what an "arch" was until I was set on the path of knowledge by this group. Thanks to all!

Without knowing what it was called, I built an arch out of cement blocks and a 2 x 2 pan this year. It worked, but...... I'm looking to build my own "improved" arch and divided pans this summer, for next years season. I've looked over the pictures in most of the posts, but there doesn't seem to be any "standard" designs, and I can't seem to find any drawings. If anyone is interested in posting their "napkin" sketches of their "old oil tank" or 55 gallon drum designs, I would be willing to redraw them in CAD and make them available for all. I plan on creating a Bill Of Materials and assembly drawings. That way when maple noobs like me show up, they can simply look at the drawings and have a good understanding of what it takes to make their own evaporator. If someone comes up with improvements to the standard design, I can update the drawings. I would benefit from the knowledge of the group, and the group can benefit from having documentation of that knowledge. Please let me know if there is any interest!

b_mclarty
03-29-2009, 11:04 AM
Hi jimjan:

My story is very similar... Made some syrup up at camp this year and enjoyed it a lot, I would like to build a oil tank evaporator for next year but, after lurking around MapleTrader for a week or two, I can't find much in the way of drawings in the forums.

I'm a high school shop teacher and teach ProEngineer (schools edition) to my students. I've been thinking that this would be an excellent ProE Assembly project for some of my students.