PDA

View Full Version : Cone filter plugs, won't allow syrup through? (Rookie)

newhampshirefarms
03-26-2009, 04:02 PM
I'm new at this, so please let me know what I'm doing wrong. I just drew off my first few gallons of syrup yesterday and was using a new 8qt synthetic filter form the Maple Guys and a pre-filter. I set my collection container (with the filter) below my evaporator draw-off and let the hot syrup flow into my collection container after it reached temp and read syrup on the hydrometer. A little bit of syrup made it through the filter, but then it really started to slow down and I was left with a few quarts just suspended in the filter, not wanting to pass through... Not sure why? Any thoughts?

Matt

johnallin
03-26-2009, 05:14 PM
Matt,
Depending on how much you put in there, it may have cooled off, that will slow it down to a crawl. Did you wet the filter first, that helps, and do you have a cover on your tank to keep the heat in?
Also for me 3 paper pre filters work well, just pull out the top one when it clogs and it helps the flow.

Father & Son
03-27-2009, 04:20 AM
This is only my 5 th year making syrup and using cone filters but this year it was about impossible to get syrup through the filters. I use six pre filters inside the cone filter and take them out one at a time when filtering slows down. In previous years I could get 2 or 3 draw offs filtered before removing a pre filter. This year it was a fight to get anything through them. The sugarsand was like mud and every draw was a struggle to get filtered.

Jim

Fred Henderson
03-27-2009, 05:36 AM
I use one syn cone and six paper pre's when the papers pulg I just pull it and dump the syrup into the next. The paper can be rinsed and used many times.

PerryW
03-27-2009, 08:02 AM
Some batches of syrup are just more difficult to filter than others; but keeping the syrup hot is essential.