PDA

View Full Version : I drilled my tree too deep

arcticcatmatt
03-24-2009, 09:06 PM
I am a rookie. I tapped a tree before reading up.

I tapped a smaller sugar maple as my first tap and I drilled it 3-4 inches deep.

Tapping season is just about kicked and I am worried about my tree. Is there anything I can do to the hole to help the tree heal?

tuckermtn
03-24-2009, 09:21 PM
when you say small, how small in diameter is your tree?

but in general, the tree will heal itself...might take 9 months instead of 6. If its a small healthy tree, you would be surpised how fast it will scab over..

arcticcatmatt
03-24-2009, 09:42 PM
I am guessing 20ish inches. I will measure tomorrow.

RileySugarbush
03-24-2009, 10:10 PM
It's not going to hurt it much. I've seen arborists drill through and bolt trees that were splitting. I think they do ok. Regardless, there is not really anything you can do from the outside that would help. I have a log split through an old tap hole. All of the healing is a growth of cover over the outside, the depth of the hole should have no affect on how fast it heals.

It will be fine.

Russell Lampron
03-25-2009, 06:34 AM
You cant kill a tree by drilling a hole in it. Proctor Research Center did a study where they drilled 100 holes in a tree and it survived. 20" is a pretty good size tree. I don't think you got into the heart with a 4" hole. Don't do anything to the hole it will heal itself. If it was a 4" tree you could hang a bucket on each side.

arcticcatmatt
03-25-2009, 08:04 AM
Thanks for the feedback!

You cant kill a tree by drilling a hole in it. Proctor Research Center did a study where they drilled 100 holes in a tree and it survived. 20" is a pretty good size tree. I don't think you got into the heart with a 4" hole. Don't do anything to the hole it will heal itself. If it was a 4" tree you could hang a bucket on each side.

:lol: Thats good. I should take a picture of the tree I saw yesterday. Someone had 6-7 buckets on one tree.