PDA

View Full Version : Slow start?

MN Maple
03-20-2009, 10:18 AM
I've had my taps out since the 12th, but have only managed to collect about 80 gallons on 40 taps over 6 days. I'm headed out today to check (it's been 3 days) and hopefully I'll find at least 50-60 gallons. This is my 3rd year and I'm still never sure what to expect for output, I find that it is incredibly variable from tree to tree. Most of the trees I use are yard trees at various locations, so I guess the "micro climate" must play a big part.

Hope to spend the evening boiling sap and drinkin' Captain...

buck3m
03-20-2009, 10:37 AM
I'd say we've only had a day and a half of good runs. About 450 gallons from 250 taps so far. Now it looks like it's going to go from too cold during the day to too warm at night!

But you never know about the weather and there's not much choice but to take what you get.

StewieSugar
03-20-2009, 10:43 AM
Same here, although this is my first year.

Most of my trees are on the northeast-facing slope of a hill (bluff), and they are varying dramatically between each other.

One tree I am consistently getting 2-3 gallons per day (when weather is right), and it alone has produced half my sap out of 23 taps. A tree fifty feet away that looks about the same size has produced one quart of sap - total.

With 23 taps, I was expecting 20 to 40 gallons a day of sap when things ran well, but I'm averaging (on good days) about 5-6 gallons.

I'm chalking this up to a "learning year" and am marking the better trees for next year.

Either way, though, I'm still ejoying it!

RileySugarbush
03-20-2009, 01:16 PM
115 taps and we have collected 60 gallons, a couple days ago.

Not much flow since, maybe another 60 in the bags this morning.

But.....

I just got a call from home: "Dad, the sap bags are all really full!"

Collecting tonight, boiling tomorrow!

Davydd
03-20-2009, 06:26 PM