PDA

View Full Version : Questions about pans?

Diezeldog
03-18-2009, 06:05 PM
Hey guys! I'm fairly new at this been doin' it for about four years.
I have a barrel stove with a 20"x24" pan with 1 divider. I make about 4 gallons per year. It takes about a month, seems like forever. But, I love it.
My question Is do you really need to have a back pan or can I just use a bigger stainless pan? Why I ask is that a friend just gave me a pan. I think it's like maybe 36"x48" with dividers all stainless. Do i need to run a back pan on this or can I just use this on a homemade arch?
People advertise sryup pans of all different sizes and I don't understand if they have a certain place on a rig or what? Some say they are for syrup some say they are for presyrup does it really make a difference? This one was free and needs to be welded on 1 seem, but I know a guy. Anyhow any info would be great. Thanks!

tessiersfarm
03-18-2009, 06:15 PM
The only advantage to multiple pans is more surface area and lighter syrup although dividers in a single pan will do the same thing. The only difference is when you get into flued pans, you can not finish on a flued pan. As far as flat pans go the more surface the faster you boil.

My experience has been that when you get a bigger pan to increase boiling rate you increase taps proportionally so the only thing that changes is how much syrup you make. The time stays constant, as in all the time available.

StewieSugar
03-18-2009, 06:47 PM
... a friend just gave me a pan. I think it's like maybe 36"x48" with dividers all stainless.

It looks you're already doing something like this, but one challenge I ran into with a single large pan is keeping enough fluid in it such that it doesn't burn, particularly with a relatively small operation. With a 36 x 48 pan, one inch of syrup is 7.5 gallons (231 cubic inches per gallon), which is more syrup than you make in the entire year.