PDA

View Full Version : Explain divided pans

mnguy
03-09-2009, 09:04 PM
I am pretty new to making syrup. I had a pan made (3x3) but did not have any dividers added to it. Would some one be kind enough to explain how the divided pans work? Should I have dividers added to the pan I had made?

Thanks,

Mike

ackerman75
03-09-2009, 10:14 PM
mnguy,
When you add the dividers you will be able to drawoff syrup more often, without dividers all you can do is make a batch and then start over. If you put in two dividers this will make three chambers, you will have to trickle new sap into the end of the first chamber and it will work its way through the chambers and end up at the drawoff valve. The new sap comming in will push the sap that is closer to syrup along, so the sap by the drawoff valve will be closest to being syrup. You will have to fill you pan to about two inches to start, when it cooks down to about 1 1/2 inches start trickling new sap in to maintain 1 1/2 inches in your pan, so when you start you will want to trickle new sap in at all times to keep pushing your sap syrup to the drawoff valve. My dividers are 6" tall and at the end of the divider where you want to go from one chamber to the next I cut out the bottom corner of the divider, went 3" each way from the corner, connect the marks and cut. This helps in judging the depth of sap in the pan, knowing the cutout in the divider is three inches tall. Hope this helps.

ackerman75
03-09-2009, 10:26 PM
mnguy,
I should also add that if you only tap a few trees I would not put in dividers because you always need sap ahead to keep trickling in. I would say with your 3 x 3 pan you should have 40 or more taps if you want to put in dividers.

Big_Eddy
03-10-2009, 01:22 PM