PDA

View Full Version : ice in buckets

seclark
02-28-2009, 06:06 PM
being a newer back yarder I wanted some input about boiling the ice or just chuck it out.Trying to boil as little as possible,thanks guys. Stan

Mac
02-28-2009, 06:22 PM
seclark
My first year with an arch... 2years on propane... I am no expert..... Now let me tell ya what I did yesterday! Bought a sap hydrometer on my way home from work..... collected sap ice and and sap from two different buckets... @ 38 degrees the sap was 6% .. I melted the ice slowly using mircowave till it too was @ 38 degrees... 2%. Obvious that the 6% was concentrated due to the ice but the chunk's of ice when melted were @ 2%.
And that my friend is my 2% worth..
Mac

buxtonboiler
02-28-2009, 06:23 PM
Alot of articles and folks I have talked to just toss the ice. The theory is that the sugar will not freeze. I have actually read stories about native americans using this technique to refine the syrup. I personally toss it, not worth time and energy to thaw and boil.

SeanD
02-28-2009, 06:26 PM
If it's floating in your collection tank/barrel, chuck it before you boil because it's mostly frozen water leaving more of the sugar behind. Sometimes I'll leave it in there to keep the sap cool if there is warm weather ahead.

If the ice is in the bucket/bag on the tree and the whole thing has frozen solid, leave it alone. It probably got cold enough to freeze it sugar and all.

Sean

seclark
02-28-2009, 06:35 PM
Mac, thanks for the info,it's very interesting.any ice in the buckets from now on will be toss-a- vooded .

3% Solution
02-28-2009, 06:58 PM
seclark,
If it's real windy or going to be I will dump the sap out and leave the ice, makes a good weight to hold the buckets on the tree.
Just my couple of pennies.

Dave

Dennis H.
02-28-2009, 07:46 PM
It all depends on how many taps you got and weather you need something to boil.