PDA

View Full Version : I need a new cordless drill

powerdub
02-24-2009, 06:51 PM
I would like to re-visit this topic a little since the advent of the lithium-ion battery and ask, does any one have any recommendations? I was looking at Milwuakee just because I have had great luck with thier cordless and regular tools. What do you all think?

ennismaple
02-24-2009, 08:13 PM
Last year I tapped with 18v DeWalt, Milwaukee and Rigid drills. I'm no tool expert but what I do know is I'd get no more than 150 taps per battery with the Milwaukee and Rigid drills and over 210 taps with the DeWalt.

Sugarmaker
02-24-2009, 08:22 PM
Using a Dewalt this year and it did a good job. Not sure of the tap count per battery. I would guess around 100 + per battery.
Chris

MapleME
02-24-2009, 08:39 PM
Three years ago I was on This Old House (yes, highlight of my decade).
Tom Silva showed up with this: By far the nicest cordless drill I have seen.
The funny thing is that he said he can get Rigid tools for free- as many as he wants but he bought this with his own cash and uses it on the show for everything.

http://www.festoolusa.com/products/cordless-drills

Josh MapleME

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
02-24-2009, 08:40 PM
Scott,

You have helped me in the past, so advice back at ya free of charge. My wife got me a Hitatchi 18 volt at Lowes 3 years ago for Christmas with 2 batteries, charger, etc. Very compact, lightweight and tons of torque and I could get 200+ taps on one battery and it was $ 99 on a special buy. Same drill is $ 139 now and had a 5 year warranty when I purchased it.

Now they have them with the Lithium batteries for $ 169. I have used Dewalt, Craftsman and others and this is a great drill I have for the money and the link below looks about exactly the same as mine, just the Lithium batteries. Size and weight are a big plus on this drill and it sets up nice in your hand.

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?action=productDetail&productId=300255-67702-DS18DSAL&lpage=none

brookledge