PDA

View Full Version : I know a maple...

bomofish
02-24-2009, 10:17 AM
Hey im still a rookie at sugaring, and my friend asked me what if i tap a red or anyother kind of maple will it drip sap? if so is that sap collected just useless cause it dosnt have the sugar content like the sugar maples. I know i can pick out a maple but i guess they all look the same to me when theres no leaves on them.

If you can give me some tips that would be great thanks alot

RileySugarbush
02-24-2009, 10:20 AM
Any maple will work, even box elders. Sugars have more concentrated sap, Reds are good too.

bomofish
02-24-2009, 10:26 AM
ok so i dont have to get worried if i didnt tap a sugar maple i feel better now thanks

buxtonboiler
02-24-2009, 10:40 AM
Just don't do like I did. My first year (2008), I decided at the last minute to try sugaring. Trying to ID trees without leaves is tricky, I actually did tap one oak. Sap didn't look right though so I dumped it and pulled the tap. Found out in the spring it was an oak. I went around when the leaves came out and marked the maples with orange construction tape.

gator330
02-24-2009, 10:56 AM
Someone around there can Id. a maple with there eyes closed. Find that person and have them take a walk with you. After he/she showes you a few you'll be able to pick them out at 65mph from the interstate. Some take on a diffrent look then others depending on the woods. I swear I have 6 differnt kinds of maples in my woods. All sugars with a differnt look to them. Bark type may vary some from tree to tree. Still a sugar maple, ok so one was a hickory once. That tree almost got it again this year! Any way in time they stand right out. Keep an eye out, you'll find more then you thought you had.

Toblerone
02-24-2009, 11:02 AM
I heard not to mix box elder sap with maple sap. Also, I tapped a silver maple in my back yard and it made some really good syrup.