PDA

View Full Version : first time tapping... check out pics of gear!

WoodButcher
02-22-2009, 08:30 PM
hey guys, boy am i glad i trampled onto this forum!
well, this is my first year tapping and have done a good amount of reading and feel i am ready to try and make my first 2 gallons of syrup!

heres my situation:

I have a large steel pot thats 23" in diameter and 10" deep for boiling.

i will be using 15-20 'knock around' buckets on sugars in my back yard. i bought 20 buckets with lids and spiles for 50$ . i thought it was a good deal .

anyways, the spiles are a bit rusty but the buckets are ok and will hold the weight. i cleaned them all out with water, bleach and dish soap. check out pics below to see what you think of this minimal operation (be gentle :) ).

i plan on placing 6 cinder blocks in a 2/3 circle , 2 blocks high and steam it up with this pot in the pic. i need more ideas for the hearth setup, so i guess ill start by searching the site. i have a ton of maple , hickory and cherry to use for fuel.

the biggest concern i have is i want to collect 50 gallons first before boiling the first time. i figured if i got a couple brand new plastic garbage cans and put them on the south side of the house (no sunlight) the sap would be ok .

My questions is... for how long? i dont want the sap to spoil, but i want to make 2 gallons of syrup and only boil it up on 2 weekends .
if i tap this tueday, with 15 buckets on healthy sugars, roughly how long will it take to get 50 gallons?
i read that one tree can make about 7 gallons per season, so if i start this week, whats your guess. im in Northeast Ohio.

i know the sooner out of the tree to boiling, the better. but i dont have time to tend to a fire all day, unless its a weekend. i figure i can boil 50gal on one weekend when i have my 1st 50 and then boil another 50 later in season.

how long will it take to boil down in this 23" diameter 10" deep pan?

thanks in advance for your help! i know, too many Qs .