PDA

View Full Version : Using filter-aid with a gravity filter

DaveB
02-18-2009, 06:06 PM
Does anyone know if you can use filter aid when using a flat or cone filter? I'm wondering if it would improve the speed and/or quality of the syrup that is being filtered.

Thanks,

Dave

TapME
02-18-2009, 06:15 PM
Dave, there was a lot of talk about that here last year. Yes you can use it and it will help in filtering. Peacemaker talked a lot about it. I will be using it this year to help speed up the filtering process. I use a cone with paper liners.

ackerman75
02-18-2009, 06:22 PM
I was wondering if you have to use the filter aid each time or if the filter is "charged" with filter aid it will be good to go for the next batch if it is not plugged ?

gmarvin
02-25-2009, 07:52 PM
OK, I am new at this and I was just a wondering. What exactly is Filter Aid???
Can somebody please tell me.
Thanks George Marvin

65 taps in jugs and an early 1900 Home Comfort Cook Stove
and 1 hard working wife having fun expected to expand after a sucessful 1st season.

3% Solution
02-25-2009, 08:04 PM
Hi guys,
I started using filter aid last year with flat filters.
Again, thanks to mountainvan!!!!
Here's what the van told me to do;
Put the orlon filter down, put three or four papers on top of it.
For the first 3/4 of a gallon (that's what we filter at a time) add 1/8 of a cup of filter aid to the syrup, stir it up real good.
Dump it on the filters, cover it and let it go.
When the filter on top gets clogged, remove it and add another 1/8 of a cup of filter aid to the next batch.
Filter aid is a fine material that gives the niter something to cling to as it filters.
We liked using it, the syrup was real clear.
Hope this helps.

Dave

HHM-07
02-25-2009, 08:45 PM
filter aid is ground uo oyster shells into a powder form it lets the niter cling to it , i would not recomend using it unless you have a filterpress, that is what it was intended for

Haynes Forest Products
02-25-2009, 11:03 PM