PDA

View Full Version : Supporting a wood-fired arch--ideas?

Brookhaven Maple
02-15-2009, 05:17 AM
I know the prevailing wisdom/practice is to pour a concrete base to support one's evaporator. Not being able to do this, any suggestions/alternatives for supporting an arch/evaporator on a wood floor? The floor is plywood and well supported with 6x6's.

Read something last year about someone doing this but can't find the discussion thread.

Thompson's Tree Farm
02-15-2009, 05:24 AM
I have no experience with this so am just throwing out ideas. Could you lay a piece of sheet steel over the wooden floor where the fire box and the fire pit would be? Then line the bottom of the fire box with 1" thick fire brick? Most of the heat is going up so I'd guess the key would be keeping hot coals etc from ever getting close to the wood surface...

ericjeeper
02-15-2009, 06:50 AM
1/2 inch thick fibermesh reinforced concrete board, They come in 24x48 inch sheets. Easy to handle, not to difficult to cut.
Or 12x12 concrete walk pavers.

KenWP
02-15-2009, 08:20 AM
In the house to put a heater in the kitchen years back before I bought the house they poured a 2 inch pad on top of the floor to place the heater on. Its common practice around here to do it that way I am told. Would be pretty simple to do it in a suger cabin.

Clan Delaney
02-15-2009, 09:11 AM
I like the concrete pavers idea, but I'd still go with the concrete board as well. Embers could fall down between the pavers. Put the board down as a barrier (or sheet metal of some sort), and then use pavers or blocks as extra insulation.

maple flats
02-15-2009, 05:29 PM