PDA

View Full Version : Correct way to install spiles

KenWP
02-10-2009, 04:17 PM
Since this is my first year of tapping maples I have a problem. When I drill a 19/64 or the 7/16 hole and insert a spile it does not go in very far when I tap it in. All the pictures I see show them inserted deeper into the tree but for me to do that I would have to pound them really hard. Almost like driveing a nail. Am I doing something wrong. I have been practiceing on a peice of tree trunk so I am ready for the real thing.

Bucket Head
02-10-2009, 04:54 PM
No, don't hammer them like nail's! This ain't carpentry! LOL!

Tap them in until they seat. On the new "Sweetest Drip" DVD, the narator explains the seating of a spile like this; "tap, tap, tunk". When you hear the sound change, the "tunk", its in. I thought it was a good explanation.

You don't want to drive them in and then split the bark. Then sap will run down the tree instead of into your bucket. You also cause undue injury to the tree.

There could be a couple of reasons offhand for what you saw in the photos. Trees with very rough bark would give the illusion that the tap was in farther. Also, who knows if the guy putting in those taps was using the correct size bit? Do you know how many people can not read a ruler?

As long as the tap is seated, your good.

Steve

peacemaker
02-10-2009, 05:00 PM
you are trying to set them in a dead stump correct ?if so theres the problem

Flat47
02-10-2009, 05:53 PM
I think it's easier to hear the difference in sound with tubing systems. With metal spouts, it's just seating them in there snug like Bucket Head said. With that said, what are you using for spouts?

KenWP
02-10-2009, 08:31 PM