PDA

View Full Version : Preheater vent question

NYScott
02-10-2009, 09:54 AM
I am a newbie setting up a 2x8, wood fired, raised flue, with a steam hood and preheater, actually I have two questions. First do I absolutely need a vent in my preheater, and if so what are some possible designs. Second if my sap storage tank is higher than 1 ft above the float box do I need a pressure regulator tank?

Thx

Haynes Forest Products
02-10-2009, 10:28 AM
Absolutly...NO..... If you are taking the time to build a preheater and fabricate a shield and hood around a preheater Think ahead as you design it. A few more fittings wont kill the project so put them in. I have had several differant typs of preheaters and I had some vapor locking but not enough to shut mr down so I didnt change things. I also didnt have all the feedback that i found on this site so use the info wisely and learn from all our mistakes and tell us about yours. I think vents can also help in cleaning out the heater or for winterizing.

NYScott
02-11-2009, 05:18 AM
Ok I think I have a workable solution I did put a vent in the header on the hot side of the preheater, however the vent which is 3/4" coppercomes up through the steam hood to a ball valve then reduces down to 1/4" soft copper that loops around and back down into the back pan. Then if I need it I can open it if I don't I can leave it closed. All I need to finish it is to rework the drain on the drip pan.

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
02-11-2009, 04:22 PM
I have a 2x8 with a preheater I built and photos are in my weblink and I checked temp yesterday and it was staying around 170 to 175 degrees with damper 1/2 closed in the steam stack and I have no problem with vapor lock nor do I have it vent and sometimes it gets much hotter than that. My float system takes care of any vapor lock problems.

Smitty
02-12-2009, 12:35 PM