PDA

View Full Version : printing labels

markct
02-02-2009, 09:33 PM
we have been buying the blank sugarhill jugs and printing labels on the clear plastic label material for our jugs, they look great, my girlfriend designed them very nicely with our log and all the info and all. the only problem is the ordinary computer printer ink isnt waterproof so if they get wet it makes a them run and rub off. anyone have any ideas or know if waterproof ink cartridges are available for ordinary computer printers, they are just black and white

3rdgen.maple
02-02-2009, 11:14 PM
Im a printer by trade and I can say that home printers will rub off with moisture. Burn a copy of your design to a cd and take it to a local printer. You can even save money by supplying the lable stock for them. Avoid the ups, fed-ex, kinko's etc. they are much more expensive than your non franchise printers. Color copies are around 25 to 35 cents apeice if they supply the paper. Black and white here in ny is half that maybe even less. Try to find a printer with a copier, they all have them. The toner(ink) goes through a fuser that reaches temps up to 400 degrees so it is fused into the paper. Have them run you a sample and see if you like the results. This is your best bet.

tuckermtn
02-02-2009, 11:34 PM
not sure if they take custom artwork, but places like checksinthemail.com can print waterproof labels pretty quickly

timbers
02-03-2009, 06:51 AM
We use a samsung colour laser, its very small prints colour at 4ppm and works great. As we only make a 100 gallons of syrup a year so we dont need a lot of labels..You can run clear or white labels thru the printer. Ian

softmaple
02-03-2009, 07:15 AM
here is the process that i have come up with that i posted a few years ago. hope this helps

http://mapletrader.com/community/showthread.php?t=2643

Clan Delaney
02-03-2009, 07:19 AM