PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Book Advice

Mike Gerend
01-29-2009, 09:19 PM
I am an overanxious beginner that took a big plunge into a 3x12 arch and corresponding pans. We are in the middle of building the sugarhouse. I have cooked off before, but never run my own system. I want to find out if anyone has encountered the be-all-end-all, beginner to advanced, manual on running a system.

Any help from the experts out there?

MG

Clan Delaney
01-30-2009, 07:39 AM
Mike, I moved your question to it's own thread where it's likely to get better attention and faster responses.

The North American Maple Syrup Producers Manual (http://www.massmaple.org/manual.html) is the maple makers bible. It's got it all. And where it leaves off, we pick up!

If you want to talk to the someone else here who went whole hog, PATheron (http://www.mapletrader.com/community/member.php?u=861) is your guy. I understand he went from nothing to everything in one year. He's probably posting a BIGSAP update as I type!

tessiersfarm
01-30-2009, 08:00 AM
between the The North American Maple Syrup Producers Manual and mapletrader.com you have it covered, top to bottom.

forester1
01-30-2009, 08:22 AM
I would add the tubing book as well. By Staats and Chapeskie (http://www.eomf.on.ca/publications/publications_details_e.aspx?pubno=P12).

Clan Delaney
01-30-2009, 10:14 AM
Mike, are there any specific questions you had? Fire 'em off, we'll have at e'm!

parsissn
01-30-2009, 12:18 PM
You can buy the N.A. Maple Syrup Manual direct from OSU. You can pay with CC online and I don't think you'll find it cheaper anywhere else.

http://estore.osu-extension.org/productdetails.cfm?sku=856

mapleman3
01-30-2009, 12:39 PM
I was thinking also we need a compilation of videos for help... so maybe I can start a thread and add links to you tube videos of maple syrup producers that have made some videos of their operations

Sugarmaker
01-30-2009, 08:00 PM
Mike,