PDA

View Full Version : Powder defoamer usage

briduhunt
01-28-2009, 01:07 PM
I purchased a tub of powder defoamer last year and I never used this product before. My question is about what the proper use of this is as I just purchased a 2x6 Leader unit and I have never used defoamer before. I would like to know if I should mix it with water or just put in dry. Either way I would like to know the proper amount I should use.
Any help would be appreciated.

802maple
01-28-2009, 01:37 PM
I like the powdered defoamer, It just use a pinch of it between my finger and thumb and toss it in, some use it in a cup suspended inside the pan. I find it lasts much longer and it doesn't spoil.

I purchased a tub of powder defoamer last year and I never used this product before. My question is about what the proper use of this is as I just purchased a 2x6 Leader unit and I have never used defoamer before. I would like to know if I should mix it with water or just put in dry. Either way I would like to know the proper amount I should use.
Any help would be appreciated.

maplwrks
01-28-2009, 01:43 PM
I use the kosher defoamer--I apply it 2 ways:

1: I put it into a defoamer cup that hangs on the partion in the flue pan, near where the fresh concentrate comes into the pan. It holds approx. 1 tblsp. and is usually enough to make 60 gallons of syrup.

2: I put some in a salt shaker and keep it handy if I need to hit the syrup pan-usually the defoamer in the flue pan will keep the front pans flat.

I really like the defoamer cup. I fill it justb before hitting the burner. I don't need to worry about defoaming for most any boil that I have. The salt shaker will work if your flue pan is open also, I have a hood over my flue pan, and tend to lose a lot of hide reaching in there!!

michiganfarmer
01-28-2009, 02:22 PM
I use the powder defoamer. I take just a pinch, and sprinkle it where its needed.

Jeff E
01-28-2009, 02:37 PM
Where do you find the dispensers?