PDA

View Full Version : how much longer till we can tap?

markct
01-27-2009, 09:08 PM
just was curious what some of the more experienced connecticut folks think we are looking at for a tapping time this year? this is my first year of realy doing it on a production scale, last year was just about 25 taps and a small flat pan, this year is 325 taps and a 2 by 8 evap. still gettin the last of the little things tied up in the sugarhouse, and a few stainless kegs ready to go for syrup storage. just gettin curious if i likely have 3 weeks or if i should get off here and be out in the sugarhouse working thru the night to get her ready to go! not in bad shape realy, gota finish the float arm for the evap, my packing just came from bascoms today, and i have the cup for it to go in and swivel on all machined out. just gota form the little arm and tig the two little pins on the end for the float to hook into. got the sight glass all done with its bracket and all a few days ago. only other must do thing is to form up a stainless mesh filter paper holder rack to sit into my canner unit. other than that its just hanging a heat shield behind the evap stack, and putting the tanks in place at the end of the mainlines. i even have my 4 ft tall cutout of a sugarhill jug made with the words pure maple syrup for sale to put at the end of the driveway! i gota get off here and go get to work in the sugarhouse!

mapleman3
01-28-2009, 07:46 AM
Still a month away, I'm in Ma. and typically always tap the last weekend of feb, you may be just a week ahead of me .

You can tap early but don't have them in too early and have to wait for nothing and risk tap closure halfway thru the season.

wkies
01-28-2009, 12:29 PM
I'm down here in extreme SW Connecticut (Stamford). I usually have ready by 2/1. After staring at the long range forecast and looking at my available time I'm thinking I will be tapping next Friday 2/6.

Let the fun begin!

markct
01-28-2009, 03:20 PM