PDA

View Full Version : Forced Air - the next step.

danno
01-25-2009, 05:15 PM
I already have forced air below the grates and am toying with the idea of placing some air nozzles above the grates, a few inches below the pans. Anybody have any experience with increased boil rate and /or burning less wood with this set up?

Bucket Head
01-25-2009, 07:52 PM
I have no experience with forced air above the grates. However I do know some, if not all the evap. manufacturers, have a set up where air is injected above he grates. I am not sure of the exact location though.

Thay say it improves combustion. It must have some merrit, or they would not implement it.

It probably does not "save" any wood. More air means more flame. If anything, maybe same amount of wood, but "more" heat extracted.

Steve

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
01-25-2009, 08:14 PM
I have air injection all around both sides and top of my archfront. I am looking to add air to the top of the fire a few inches below the pans and may add it to the rear and both sides giving me air injection on all four sides above the fire. This will be probably summer of 2010 if I do it as I am hoping to work on finishing some on the inside of the sugarhouse this summer. I would also like to hear what others have to say about it. I hope it increases my boil rate some. I would like to get it up to 70gph or better, but I am not sure how much this will help with any, but I think it will.

mfchef54
01-25-2009, 08:26 PM
go to www.uvm.edu/~pmrc/Combustion.pdf. they have a description. I can't take credit for finding this as someone posted a while back. There is a diagram at the very end of the paper

danno
01-25-2009, 09:42 PM
Yup - that's the article I read. The wood saving is really what got me thinking. I assume this is how the inferno arches are built. Looking for someone with some first hand experience about best installation method and whetherr results justify the modifications.