PDA

View Full Version : Priceing a bottle of syrup

Haynes Forest Products
01-21-2009, 07:15 PM
How did you arrive at the price to charge for a bottle of syrup. I understand that you have your cost of the BULK syrup that you either made or bought ,you have the cost of the container , your labor and your profit.
If you buy it or make it the bulk price of syrup is what the wholesale price that your buyer is paying. There is this line between what it cost me to make and what I can buy it for. Containers and bulk syrup are the easy part of the equation its the labor and profit that driving me crazy. Im a hobbiest / producer and with that disclaimer I sell all my syrup bulk at the going rate and keep about 25 gallons to sell and give away to friends. I cant use what I charge at my hourly rate when i go to work as a base line. I have a possible customer that wants to buy all my syrup bottled and labled. So I came up with a formula that I think works under all market conditions. I would rather sell wholesale close to home rather than drive it 150 miles out of the way have a truck load of empty buckets to clean and store.

cost of 1 oz of bulk syrup X 10% X number of oz in the bottle + cost of the container + $1.00 to fill the bottle install back label only and deliver to the store COD.

What do I need to change or adjust or rethink

paul
01-21-2009, 07:46 PM
Haynes

I think you should add 30% to the cost of your syrup and container. You need to reheat refilter and can. you need to pick up your containers. theirs a cost to doing all this.
just my two cents

Haynes Forest Products
01-22-2009, 12:46 PM
Paul I decided to go to 25% as far as the containers Im only dealing with one person so Im going to suggest that they place the bottle order and pay for it and Ill pick up on my yearly trip to Roth Sugar Bush.

DaveB
01-22-2009, 03:11 PM