PDA

View Full Version : maple sugar recipe questions

sugarnut
01-19-2009, 05:59 PM
take a look at this website and the recipes given and tell me what you think about them. http://www.baking911.com/candy/maple.htm i am new to making sugar and candy and i followed some of the recipes with varying results. i was just wondering if anyone thinks some of the recipes got mixed up on that site.

the first time i tried to make a molded candy, i ended up with sugar. the next time i tried to make it, i ended up with what was more like a caramel. it was a bit too stiff to spread like i would imagine a cream to be.

so next, i tried making sugar and i ended up with a fondant or ohio cream. it was very much like a fudge.

the next attempt was again for sugar. i cooked the syrup until it was @ 257 F and poured it into a heavy stainless basin. i stirred and stirred and it seemed like the stainless basin was holding too much heat, so i placed it into a water bath in a larger bread dough bowl to cool it while i stirred. i had great success with that method. i got really nice sugar. common sense tells me i need to cool the sugar quickly while i stir, but that seems to conflict with the recipe on the linked page.

the next attempt was again for sugar. this time i used syrup that had been repacked in the past. i had repacked 2006 and 2007 to free up canning jars for veggies. i packed it into bacon jugs. again, i heated the syrup to 257 F and this time i poured it into a flat, stainless buffet pan. i used no water bath and stirred...for 45 minutes. i ended up with a maple cream or spread. it has no grainy character and is a bit softer than the stuff that ended up like caramel.