PDA

View Full Version : fixing leaks

Uncle Tucker
01-18-2009, 04:28 PM
This is my first year with vacuum, I was wondering when people talk of fixing leaks,,,,,

On the lateral lines, are you just cutting the fittings out and replacing them or can you try to reseat the tubing?

On the mainlines can I put another pipe clamp on it or reheat the fitting and tighten the clamp or do I have to cut the pipe and reconnect?

I know every leak is different but what is the most common fix?

PATheron
01-18-2009, 06:45 PM
This was the experiance I had last year with leaks. I fired up the pump once I had everything tapped in and then I just walked all the lines basically listening for leaks hissing. Loose saddles are a common one and forgotten drops etc. I didnt really have any problem with mainline connections leaking but I use a mainline tool to basically press the fittings onto the tube and I dont heat the line so that really helps on that. After the initial walkaround I would basically walk the lines when I could watching for bubbles racing down the laterals. When I find one I walk out the line tunking on spiles till I find a loose one and youll see the bubbles quit racing instantly. I found I set my spiles light and kind of had to tunk them on in once it warmed up but thats ok I dont like to put them in to hard frozen. Hope this helps. Theron

maplehound
01-18-2009, 07:11 PM
Theron does basically the same as I Do. However if I do find a leak at a mainline fitting I just try and tighten the clamp that is on it or add another. Also during the season if I find a hole in the branch lines I just wrap it with electrical tape, that way I don't have to carry my tool and a bunch of fittings around with me. If you should find a fitting leaking I would sugest that you change it wrather than trying to cut it off and re using it.

brookledge
01-18-2009, 07:17 PM