PDA

View Full Version : what type of wood to burn?

steve J
09-15-2004, 08:20 AM
I am brand new to this and I am wondering what type of wood do most of your burn? Also what do you do when you still have a hot fire going but you have run out of sap to boil?

Al
09-15-2004, 10:18 AM
Hi Steve. I burn what ever I have on my woodlot. I burn some maple,apple,ash and elm. Haven't burned softwood but some do. Some people burn pallets also.
The trick to learn is not to run out of sap when you have a full fire. I put a mark on my inside tank and when the sap level reachs it I stop firing the evaporator. For my rig thats roughly 30 gallons. I figure I boil between 20-25 gallons an hour. The first time you fire up the rig it would be better to err on the side of caution and have more sap left over. Then the next time you can gage your boiling rate even better and lower your mark.
Also the first time I kept out 2 five gallon buckets of sap for just this emergency. Was lucky and didn't need it. :D
Hope this helps. I'm pretty new at this too and like it more every year.
Take care

mapleman3
09-15-2004, 11:15 AM
Spoken like a true professional Al... boy you have come a long way, thats pretty much what I do also, I stop with a good 30 gals left, some stop with less, but I am amazed at how long the bricks stay hot and the water continues to boil out of the sap!!
I burn anything also, even pallets, with pine and such just be sure it is real dry, that way you don't get too much creasote build up, but of coarse with the high temp fires we burn it's not much of a problem.

WF MASON
09-15-2004, 12:09 PM
I was always taught , softwood only , the hardwood coals up and can warp the grates , the soft leaves very little ash , burns hot and fast, but that said, the past 5-6 years traveling around to sugarhouses I see more and more hard wood mixed with the soft , more in Vermont then elewhere.

mapleman3
09-15-2004, 12:48 PM