PDA

View Full Version : Safety, Safety, Safety

Elynch77
01-15-2009, 02:17 PM
Well after spending a year wearing Eye protection I did not do it while I was out in the woods. I got off with what I guess is a mild corneal abrasion on my right eye. Not any real damage but as it was a piece of wire it could have been a lot worse. I kept going and got about 600 ft up and tight but kept thinking that we could use a SAFETY section on the site. I am a sniper by trade so an injury to my right eye is a bit of a concern and while I was wiping frozen tears off my face I told myself I would do it as soon as I got in.

In the Army we had safety briefings on everything as well as risk assessments and everything else. Having been a Safety coordinator at a Power Plant for a few years before going back to the Army full time I know it is common practice in Industry applications as well.

Everything we do in the sugar bush or sugar shack is dangerous and I think we would be amiss not to address it. I know better and still went out without safety glasses. An accident with a chainsaw could be far worse.

So in short, at the very start of this season, lets get safety on the brain. I hate to be the guy preaching but if one accident is avoided by doing it I am okay with it. I have spent 14 years doing very dangerous things (professionally, and many more before that)and I get hurt playing in the woods. So lets remember Eye protection, hearing protection, Chaps helmet and face guards, Gloves, and Fire extinguishers to just name a few.

Haynes Forest Products
01-15-2009, 02:44 PM