PDA

View Full Version : Tubing tool ice up

Thompson's Tree Farm
01-06-2009, 04:30 AM
When using the two handed tubing tool at this time of year, I have a constant fight with ice forming in the jaws as a result of snow from the line or when I set the tool down. Does anyone have any easy ways to help reduce or eliminate this problem other than getting my woods work done in more friendly weather?
Thanks,
Doug

Dave Y
01-06-2009, 05:06 AM
Thompson,
I carry my tools in a pack basket or bucket. When I am done with it I put it back to keep it out out the snow. As far as the snow of the the lines go, I just clean the snow off the line before i clap the tool on. I haven't had any problems.

gator330
01-06-2009, 06:14 AM
A little off the subject but I am new to tube. Of all the tools Which one is the most "must have" tool for making it easy. I have spent way to much this year but may have room to by a tool. Going to run 1,000 feet of main line and try to pick up as many Maples as I can. All Gravity.

Thompson's Tree Farm
01-06-2009, 06:20 AM
Gator,
I went for 4 years with no special tools. Just hot water and a thermos bottle. I thought the tool was too expensive. Bought the two handed tubing tool last year and would not be without it. It was spendy but quickly made up for the cost in saved time and frustration. My opinion, get a 2 handed tool today!

gator330
01-06-2009, 06:40 AM
I'll look one up! Where is Dekalb N.Y. I'm east of Rochester 30 miles.

Dave Y
01-06-2009, 06:53 AM
Gator,
I agree with Thompson. I started tubing last year and i bought a two handed tool to start with and would never do tubing without one!

gator330
01-06-2009, 07:05 AM