PDA

View Full Version : Hydrometers?

Buckeye mapler
12-07-2008, 10:54 PM
I am just starting out here so don't laugh. What is the difference in the short hydrometers and the longs other than size? kind of leads to the age old debate,,,,, does size matter????????? just wondering cause i am asking for some of my stuff for christmas and the wife is going to place the order soon. thanks for any help. one more thing, is the 0-7 thermometer necessary when you will be finishing on a finisher and testing with the hydrometer??

Grade "A"
12-08-2008, 03:33 AM
The long hydrometer is easier to read the numbers, but you need a long hydrometer cup. The smaller hydrometer can use a short hydrometer cup wich takes less syrup to fill, for smaller evaporators.

Russell Lampron
12-08-2008, 05:12 AM
The short hydrometer and cup are easier to use around the draw off spigot.

partsrus1974
12-08-2008, 07:22 AM
any of you guys use a hydrotherm instead of a hydrometer.The hydrotherm reads at all temps.I benn useing one for 2 years works good

peacemaker
12-08-2008, 09:28 AM
nice explanation grade A
parts i was looking at one of them over at bascoms thinking next year to many upgrades this year ...

Buckeye mapler
12-08-2008, 11:25 AM
parts,
how exactly does that work? is this going to be the new thing? would you recommend it to a person like myself who will be doing this for the first time?

partsrus1974
12-08-2008, 11:50 AM
i use one all the time,it works well in my option,I have checked it against a hydrometer and its wright on.U just have to keep it room temp I just hang it on the side of my syrup pan..U need the tall cup i think there 10 or 12"long
.Only thing is they cost 25$ instead of 12$

Buckeye mapler
12-08-2008, 03:37 PM
So this thing will register temperature as well as density? It sounds like something i would be interested in. what on-line stores can i buy it from?

partsrus1974
12-08-2008, 07:51 PM
bascom's has them

Maple Hill Sugarhouse
12-08-2008, 08:39 PM