PDA

View Full Version : Aluminum/SS

adk1
12-02-2008, 11:08 AM
Can anyone give me the quick reasons why there are spiles made out of Aluminum and some made out of Stainless Steel?

peacemaker
12-02-2008, 11:18 AM
cost ? compnys prefrence?

maple sapper
12-02-2008, 12:22 PM
I have not been doing sugaring as long as many others that have been around this forum. In my opinion anything aluminum should not be used near food. That includes cookware. I am a contractor (as a full time job) and use alot of aluminum equipment such as ladders and scaffolding and its a very soft metal. Even touching it for some length of time shows how soft it is. I have had days where I have been on a ladder in shorts and my shins have black lines on them from the steps on the ladder. Even my hands can have a black residue on them from moving the ladder. So if its that soft and can transfer onto your skin I sure would not want my food on it. I truely think that time will tell about a link with aluminum and brain diseases. Who knows, we all drink out of aluminum cans for soft drinks and beer. Not looking to start a huge discussion on health, just my opinion of aluminum and food.

adk1
12-02-2008, 01:02 PM
yeah, and now isnt there somethign out there that they are finding out that plastic is bad now, plastic water bottles etc!

maple sapper
12-02-2008, 02:35 PM
the plastic theory may be just something to make news about. The press loves to put fear in everyone. Ever notice that? If not watch the news and when they put out a question its usually to make you scared. example "Are our kids playgrounds safe?" Tomatos were poisonious long ago as well. But, it is known that metals can not be cleansed from the blood very easily. Thats true for lead, and mercury. I cant say ive ever seen any aluminum in my multi vitamin. Gregg

adk1
12-02-2008, 02:37 PM
i agree and it is a good point

Clan Delaney
12-02-2008, 07:42 PM