PDA

View Full Version : new mapler looking for experience

Buckeye mapler
11-25-2008, 09:35 PM
I am in the process of accumulating the necessary equipment to make this happen. I live in Blanchester area and am looking for a mapler around my area that would be interested in a helper in exchange for some of your advice and the experience. (Preferably someone who is confident with their outfit.) If you or anyone you know is interested in properly introducing me to your passion and one I hope to share, please message me. Thank you for your consideration in advance! Tom

OGDENS SUGAR BUSH
11-25-2008, 10:07 PM
where in OHIO are you TOM??

RICH

newman_maple
11-26-2008, 08:35 AM
Tom,

I would check the Ohio Maple Producers page for possible connections. http://www.ohiomapleproducers.com/

I am only an hour from you, but I am not set up yet for this coming year and this will only be my second year of producing more than what my family uses. I am still learning as I go.

There are no producers I know of close to me, but there are producers listed on the site from Batavia, Wilmington, Cincinnati, etc.. Might be a good starting point.

Eric

Sugarmaker
11-26-2008, 12:06 PM
Welcome Buckeye,
Hope you can find some folks near by but if you cant we are here just about every day with our words of wisdom:)
Chris

Buckeye mapler
11-26-2008, 02:09 PM
Thanks all for the warm welcome. I am located in Midland, but will eventually tapping woods in Hillsboro. Midland is in Clinton county. I will check the Ohio maple Producers assoc. web site, thanks for the tip. Hopefully someone will be willing.

newman_maple
11-26-2008, 02:23 PM
Midland is north of Fayetteville, right? I teach at Mt Orab, but I live 30 minutes east off St Rt 32. I am also about 35 minutes south of Hillsboro.

I am no expert, but I will help in any way I can.

Buckeye mapler
11-26-2008, 05:09 PM