PDA

View Full Version : Need more air!!! I think...

swierczt
11-18-2008, 06:56 AM
Hello,

This is my first post. First I've got to tell you that I've been sugaring in central Connecticut for about 12 years at the hobby level (35 taps) and learned mostly on my own...but I think I've learned more about sugaring in the last few months by reading the posts on this site than I've learned in the last 12 years on my own! Keep up the good work!

Now to my question...I have a home-build barrel evaporator with a 28 x 36 pan on top and a forced draft system on the bottom. I have a 8" stovepipe out the back with no damper with aprox. 10' of stovepipe. One problem I've always had was that to get the most gph out of my rig I have to keep the door cracked to let more air in. I know I am loosing heat out the opening in the door. For my forced air, I have two- 2.5" squirel-cage blowers with 3000 rpm motors on them. I had one, blowing through an iron pipe with .5" holes blowing up through the bottom of the fire. It helped, but still had to crack the door to keep the fire cranking. I added a second blower low on the door blowing right at the fire along with an asjustable air intake with a 6" x 2" opening to take in air and STILL have to have the door cracked! I know I am loosing heat this way. Is my stovepipe too long or too short? Is there something else I'm missing? Thanks in advance!

3% Solution
11-18-2008, 07:38 AM
swierczt,
I had mine on a barrell arch, til it rotted out.
I had two 4" fans blowing into mine and still have them blowing into the new arch.
I have a 6" pipe coming out.
This thing cranks right up pretty good.
If you close the door and let the heat build up, does it chug?
If so, you need air, lots of air.
Just my two cents.

Dave

RileySugarbush
11-18-2008, 08:03 AM