PDA

View Full Version : Feed Tank Question

michigansugarman
10-19-2008, 07:13 PM
Hi all:

I've been an avid reader of the forum for over a year and finally joined!

I've been a hobbyist for 16 years. I tap 50 -60 trees and for most of my years have used a Leader Half Pint. This year I am upgrading to a Leader 2 X 4.

Upgrading will necessitate using a feed tank. I have an aluminum tank approximately 2 ft wide by 4 ft long and 18 in high (about 95 gallons) with an outlet on the side. I am also looking at using a 50-65 gallon plastic tank (TSC has them), also with the outlet on the side.

It does not appear to me that either of these tanks would drain fully. Being employed full time, I can only boil on the weekends and some weekdays. It seems to me it would be necessary and/or desirable to drain and rinse the feed tank between the times I can boil.

I would appreciate any thoughts you might have on how to deal with this problem. Thanks!

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
10-19-2008, 09:08 PM
These tanks will work as a feed tank if you don't want to spend any more money. The round bottom tanks are better with a drain on the bottom as they drain fully. You can use one of these tanks or get a 55 gallon barrel and cut off the top and put a valve in the bottom of the tank on one end and built a platform for it with a slight slope towards the valve end.

Either way, you are correct in that it needs to be nice and clean every day if possible. If you go with one of the TSC tanks, just tilt and drain the remaining sap into a 5 gallon bucket. I used one of the 150 gallon stock tanks for a feed tanks many years ago when I had a flat pan and they work good. You can also tilt the tank towards the outlet when it quits running and this will drain out about all the sap in it.

Russell Lampron
10-20-2008, 05:37 AM