PDA

View Full Version : From Evaporator to barrel-filtering

Jeff E
10-16-2008, 11:21 AM
Hi all,
I am looking for different thoughts on the process of getting syrup from the draw off into a barrel.

In the past I have always drawn off into a bucket, reheated and filtered later on. That was makeing about a gallon per hour. I will be doing mch higher volume now, about 12 gallons per hour, and am looking for thoughts on the best way to do this.

maplwrks
10-16-2008, 01:23 PM
I filter right from my draw off tank, through the press, then into the barrel. I've always been against reheating syrup to "standardize", I feel that you only cook the grade out of your syrup. Most of the large producers draw off into a tank, check for density, run it through the press and pack into the barrel. Although I am not a large producer, I use the same method---just use a smaller draw off tank.

Valley View Sugarhouse
10-16-2008, 04:48 PM
I do the same as maplwrks, I draw into a drawoff tank, check density, mix in filteraid and send to the drum... I have seen filter tanks made for cone filtering used as well, the filling valve is hooked to the press, and you have a tehrmometer for making adjustments to density/temp..

sapman
10-16-2008, 07:24 PM
Mike, when using this method are you drawing/filtering fast enough for the entire barrel to keep hot enough to get a good hot pack vacuum seal? I've done it both ways, but am usually too dense and may get a little mold when using the straight to the barrel method.

Thanks,
Tim

royalmaple
10-17-2008, 06:49 AM
I always draw off a couple points heavy into a delaval pail from the evap. Mix in some DE, and run it through the press. Out put of the press goes into my canner. Then once filtered and in the canner I fine tune the density. Once it is perfect I dump it into a drum.

If I have enough syrup that night I don't really have to heat up the filtered syrup much cause it is still pretty hot. Otherwise I heat it up the next day to fine tune it.