PDA

View Full Version : mainline wire distance

sapman
09-29-2008, 11:28 PM
What is the maximum distance (if there is a maximum) that a mainline wire should be strung? Or how far have some of you gone with it? It seems like distance could become too great, and sags would be inevitable. But maybe with enough tie-backs you can keep going.

Thanks,
Tim

jrthe3
09-30-2008, 01:27 AM
i am no pro but i think you could go as lomg as you like to as long as you sapport it i have one mainline that is over 700 feet long a put a T post every 100 feet or so but that would depend on the size of the main and the amount of taps on it i know a guy that has a main over 3000' long 11/2 wet line with a 11/2 dry line both on the same wire over 1500 taps on it and he has it sapported like every 25 to 30 feet

ennismaple
09-30-2008, 11:43 AM
There's no real limit. The more "hard" connections to trees you have the tighter you can get it. The longer the distance between the ends the more tie-backs and t-bars you need to keep it on a constant grade. If you're on flat ground you need more intermediate supports. If you're on the side of a mountain you can probably get away with very few.

Valley View Sugarhouse
09-30-2008, 11:52 AM
my wet dry system, is a little over 4200 ft and gains 350 ft in elevation..

Haynes Forest Products
09-30-2008, 01:58 PM
I try and run about 100 at a time and zigzag from tree to tree (beach trees) so that when big limbs or complete trees fall they dont take out the entire wire plus you can tune up the wire section by section

softmaple
09-30-2008, 02:21 PM
i think what he is asking is how long the main wire should be strung between trees/tiedowns/supports that support the mainline not how long mainline should be.

OGDENS SUGAR BUSH
09-30-2008, 03:50 PM
mine is 900 feet and i am on flat land so i surport it about every 10 feet to keep it from sagging

RICH

Brian Ryther
09-30-2008, 04:22 PM