PDA

View Full Version : 4 -10 hour work days

gearpump
08-30-2008, 04:52 PM
Ok I need some input, before my wife commits me. The shop where we work are going to 4-10 hour days instead of the 5- 8 hour days. I am a machinist and work with fast moving machines and I am making the stand that it is unsafe and I feel production will go down also. I have given my notice of quiting and well..I don't have a new job yet. So should I suck it up and stay with the company?, or stand by my morals. I do agree having friday off will be nice, But going to work at 6:00am and getting out at 4:30 is going to make one long day. We also have tenants so this means getting up at 4:00am to plow out and then getting home and plowing in the dark. I am beside myself with what to do!!

Marty

maplecrest
08-30-2008, 05:34 PM
i see it as a great move. the two extra hours for four days will take some getting adjusted too. but 3 days in a row to work on sugaring. you have the r/o so boiling wont be too bad at nite. just that lost 2 hours four days will need some thinking. more storage or some one to start the r/o before you get home

Russell Lampron
08-30-2008, 06:14 PM
Marty,

Try it for a while and see if you like it. In the mean time you can look for another job and leave if you can't get used to it. Three day weekends are nice for getting things done at home. Those will turn into 4 day weekends when there is a Monday holiday. That will be like a mini vacation.

maple flats
08-30-2008, 07:02 PM
I'd take it in a heartbeat. You will like the 3 days in a row off. Just be sure you get enough rest to be alert at the machines during the 10 hr days. I am 61 yrs old and would love that schedule. Of course I now work a total of about 14 hrs daily during much of the year, but not on the same job. You will quickly adjust and get to like it.

lpakiz
08-30-2008, 08:08 PM