PDA

View Full Version : Maximum number of taps on a 2x6?

DaveB
08-05-2008, 03:24 PM
I'm trying to determine the maximum number of taps that one could handle on a 2x6 evaporator given the best circumstances.

I've been making syrup outside on a flat pan and block arch for a number of years and this year I decided to upgrade my situation with a Leader 2x6 and I plan on building a sugarhouse in September. It seems that with that decision has come some good fortune.

A neighbor 'opened' up his woods to me which would give me an additional 200 taps. I've been tapping about 250 for many years. I'm not worried about being able to boil the sap from those 450 taps, in fact, I've figured that I could handle about 500 taps if I needed (8 hours a day, every day).

I've been looking to slowly expand over the next five to seven years and my original thinking was that I would add an RO and woodsaver blower before I would migrate to a larger 3x10. My thinking was that I could always use the RO with the larger evaporator.

Now, I may be able to expand more quickly than I thought. I don't want to sell the 2x6 after just one season, so I was thinking that if I added an RO next year I would be able to handle about 1500 taps. I base that on an average of 750 gallons of sap per day X .3 (the amount of water left after being removed by the RO) = 225 gallons of sap to be boiled. I realize that some days I will have more sap but some days I will have less. I figure I can boil off about 240 gallons in a day.

Would it be worth it to buy a Steamaway two years from now if I add another 1000 taps (a total of 2500 taps)? A Steamaway would allow me to boild about 500 gallons per day (8 hour day). If 2500 taps gave me 1300 gallons of sap and I remove 70% of the water, I'd have only 390 gallons left to boil, right?