PDA

View Full Version : 2X4 pan construction

PeddlerLakeSapper
08-05-2008, 01:58 PM
I am making a pan for a 2X4 arch. Instead of making 2 pans, I have one pan divided into a 24"X30" back section with a 18"X24" front area with 3 dividers. Will this work the same as 2 separate pans?

Haynes Forest Products
08-05-2008, 03:27 PM
Yes and no the reason you have seperate pans is so you can regulate the sap flow between pans and this is done with valves outside the pans. Having valves between the pans also lets you shut valves to stop the mixing between the pans as boiling stops. You could put valves between the dividers buy making your dividers solid and use valves out side the pans to regulate flow

Gary R
08-06-2008, 09:53 AM
I'm new to this, but I like the single pan idea. I'm building my second 3 section, flat pan. On a single pan you only have one level keep an eye on. The evaporater will do the work for you in establishing a gradient with syrup at the draw off. You will not need to ladle from on pan to the other. You can try some kind of stopper that can slide over the divider to block off a section if you need to. The only advantage I see with multiple pans is that they are easier to handle for cleaning.

For the guy who has multiple pans already or steam table pans, I like the idea of valves. No ladling, but might be expensive to do.

Good luck on your pan!

Haynes Forest Products
08-06-2008, 10:53 AM