PDA

View Full Version : poison ivy

jrthe3
06-02-2008, 03:24 AM
dose any one know a good way to kill poison ivy that is on my maple trees want to kill it but not the tree

maple flats
06-02-2008, 08:00 PM
I have the same problem. I used to get poison ivy real bad but i work in it so much I think i have gotten an immunity of sorts. As for killing the poison ivy, try pulling it from the tree and hit the first several leaves with a spray for poison ivy. There is one I use called cross bow, roundup also has a formula that is labeled for poison ivy. As long as you get it away from the tree where you spray you are OK. Pioson Ivy also likes acid soil, I have often wondered if you could get it just by adding lime on the poison ivy. Not sure what it might do for the maple tree tho.

maplehound
06-03-2008, 10:56 AM
both cross bow and round up are safe to use on trees as long as you arn't getting it on the leaves of a young tree. Cross Bow is also exceptionally good for multiflower rose. In fact it won't affect most grass , rasberry or other types of undergrowth.

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
06-03-2008, 08:00 PM
Ron,

I have used both Cross bow and Round up and found roundup works much better for killing multiflower roses, but unfortunately, it kills all the grass the mist hits. I spray about 2 to 3 four gallon backpack sprayers every year and I mix 1 pint of roundup to 4 gallon of water. Don't sound like a lot of spray, 8 to 12 gallons, but you can spray a ton of multiflower roses with that much. Just need to hit them for 1 to 2 seconds. Maybe with the Crossbow you have to spray them a lot longer?

Haynes Forest Products
06-03-2008, 11:20 PM
Make sure that if you use a Systemic type killer that on very hot days the fumes dont drift up onto low branches. The hotter the day the quicker the plant obsorbs the Roundup the less you need so be carful. If i look at a picture of Poison Ivy i break out.

Gary R
06-04-2008, 06:30 AM
jrthe3,