PDA

View Full Version : Soldered Pans

kirkhedding
05-11-2008, 03:45 PM
I'm new to this post, so this question probably has come up before. I'm looking to purchase a used 2 by 6 wood fired evaporator. I've seen a couple that say they are SS pans that are soldered. Is having soldered pan's that big of deal? Also, what if the solder is not lead free. Again, big deal or not.
Thanks
Kirk

Haynes Forest Products
05-11-2008, 05:17 PM
Lead free solder is what you want. You can get test kits at plumbing stores. Lead solder melts at a lower rate then lead free does. With that in mind we all have come close to over heating out pans at one time or another with lead solder that could mean a repair. with Tig welded pans it could mean alot of cleaning and some worpage but no leaks. I have a old set of 2X6 English tin pans and they have more seam repairs than Rosie O'Donalds pants suit. The worst part is when your boiling and you think there is a leak and all your work is going up the stack. Trying to repair solderd pans is one of the most frustrating things you can try and do in the heat of the battle.

kirkhedding
05-11-2008, 05:37 PM
Can you and how hard is it to resolder with lead-free?
Kirk

Haynes Forest Products
05-11-2008, 05:58 PM
The problem with repairing solderd pans is Have they been repaired before??
Trying to use lead free over lead base solder is the melting temp. If you look at the different solders at home depot you will notice the amount of lead in the differant types and that will effect the melting temp. So if you try to repair the leak with higher temp solder than the surounding solder you end up making things worse. Its like trying to nail Jello to the wall. Its easer to fix 450 degree solderd pans with 400 degree solder and then 350 YADA YADA YADA.

Haynes Forest Products
05-11-2008, 06:03 PM